Deposit Insurance Systems Worldwide

Deposit insurance–whether explicit or implicit–is a political reality in effectively all jurisdictions that have a banking system. The role of an explicit deposit insurance system in today's financial environment will continue to evolve and expand.

1. Afghanistan 2. Albania* 3. Algeria*
4. Andora1 5. Argentina* 6. Armenia
7. Australia* 8. Austria (5)2 9. Azerbaijan*
10. Bahamas* 11. Bahrain 12. Bangladesh*
13. Barbados* 14. Belarus 15. Belgium*
16. Benin*3 17. Bermuda 18. Bolivia
19. Bosnia and Herzegovina* 20. Brazil (2) 4* 21. British Virgin Islands
22. Brunei* 23. Bulgaria* 24. Burkina Faso*3
25. Cameroon5 26. Canada* (and Quebec*, British Columbia*)(11)6

27. Central African Republic5

28. Chad5 29. Chile 30. Chinese Taipei*
31. Colombia (2)7* 32. Congo5 33. Croatia*
34. Cyprus 35. Czech Republic* 36. Denmark
37. Dominican Republic 38. Ecuador* 39. El Salvador*
40. Equatorial Guinea5 41. Estonia 42. Finland*
43. France* 44. Gabon5 45. Germany* (9)8
46. Ghana 47. Gibraltar 48. Greece*
49. Guatemala* 50. Guernsey* 51. Guinea-Bissau*3
52. Honduras* 53. Hong Kong* 54. Hungary*
55. Iceland* 56. India* 57. Indonesia*
58. Iran* 59. Ireland 60. Isle of Man
61. Italy* (2)9 62. Ivory Coast*3 63. Jamaica*
64. Japan*(2)10 65. Jersey* 66. Jordan*
67. Kazakhstan* 68. Kenya* 69. Korea* (6)11
70. Kosovo* 71. Kyrgyz Republic* 72. Lao PDR
73. Latvia 74. Lebanon* 75. Libya*
76. Liechtenstein* 77. Lithuania 78. Luxembourg
79. Macao, SAR of China 80. Macedonia 81. Malaysia*
82. Mali*3 83. Malta 84. Mauritania
85. Mexico*(3)12 86. Micronesia13 87. Moldova
88. Mongolia* 89. Montenegro* 90. Morocco*
91. Mozambique 92. Nepal 93. Netherlands*
94. Nicaragua* 95. Niger*3 96. Nigeria*
97. Northern Mariana Islands13 98. Norway* 99. Oman
100. Pakistan 101. Palestine* 102. Paraguay*
103. People’s Republic of China 104. Peru* 105. Philippines*
106. Poland* 107. Portugal (2)14 108. Puerto Rico13
109. Romania* 110. Russian Federation* 111. Rwanda
112. San Marino 113. Senegal*3 114. Serbia*
115. Singapore* 116. Slovakia 117. Slovenia*
118. Spain 119. Sri Lanka 120. Sudan*
121. Sweden* 122. Switzerland* 123. Tajikistan
124. Tanzania* 125. Thailand* 126. Togo*3
127. Trinidad and Tobago* 128. Turkey* 129. Turkmenistan
130. Uganda* 131. Ukraine* 132. United Kingdom*
133. United States* (2)15 134. Uruguay* 135. Uzbekistan
136. Venezuela* 137. Vietnam* 138. Yemen
139. Zimbabwe*    

* An asterisk marks the jurisdictions whose deposit insurance institutions are IADI Members. (Updated 22 September 2017)

The DIS in Andorra was established in 2011 and is operated by the Andorran National Institute of Finance (public financial institution founded in 1989 providing functions of financial regulation and control of the financial sector in Andorra).

There are five deposit insurance systems in Austria: Deposit Protection Company of the Austrian Commercial Banks, Hypo-Haftungs-Gesellschaft mbH, Österreichische Raiffeisen-Einlagensicherung reg. Gen. mbH, Volksbank Einlagensicherung eG and Österreichischer Sparkassenverband.

The West African Monetary Union Deposit insurance Fund insures deposits in all eight countries of the West African Monetary Union (Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo).

There are two deposit insurance systems in Brazil: Fundo Garantidor de Créditos (FGC) and Fundo Garantidor do Cooperativismo de Crédito (FGCOOP).

The Central African Deposit Guarantee Fund insures deposits in all six countries that the Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa comprises of (Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and Republic of the Congo).

In addition to the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC) and Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), there are 9 provincial deposit insurance systems for credit unions.

There are two deposit insurance systems in Colombia: Fondo de Guarantias de Instituciones Financieras (FOGAFIN) covering deposits in banks, the Fondo de Garantias de Entidades Cooperatives (FOGACOOP) to deal with deposits in cooperatives.

There are nine deposit insurance systems in Germany including the Deposit Protection Fund of the Association of German Banks (ESF), Compensation Scheme of German Banks (EdB), National Association of German Cooperative Banks’ Voluntary Scheme (BVR-Sicherungseinrichtung), National Association of German Cooperative Banks’ Mandatory Scheme (BVR Institutssicherung GmbH), Association of German Public Banks Voluntary Guarantee Fund (VÖB-ESF), Compensation Scheme of the Association of German Public Sector Banks (VÖB-EdÖ), Institutional Protection Scheme of the German Savings Banks Association Statutory deposit guarantee scheme of the German Savings Banks Association and the Association of Private Building Societies’ Voluntary Guarantee Fund.

The two deposit insurance systems in Italy are Fondo Interbancario di Tutela dei Depositi (FITD) and Fondo di Garanzia dei Depositanti del Credito Cooperativo.

10 While the Deposit Insurance Corporation of Japan is responsible for insuring deposit-taking institutions in general, the agricultural and fishery cooperatives, etc. are separately insured by the Agricultural and Fishery Cooperative Savings Insurance Corporation (AFCSIC) due to the different risk features of these institutions.

11 The Korea Deposit Insurance Corporation provides deposit insurance for banks, insurance companies, securities companies, merchant banks and mutual savings banks. There are 5 other deposit protection systems for cooperative financial institutions in Korea: Credit Union Guarantee Fund, Agricultural Cooperatives Mutual Credit Depositor Protection Fund, Community Credit Cooperatives Safety Fund, Fisheries Cooperatives Mutual Credit Depositor Protection Fund and Forestry Cooperatives Mutual Credit Depositor Protection Fund.

12 In Mexico, in addition to the Instituto para la Protección al Ahorro Bancario (IPAB), there are Fondo de Supervisión Auxiliar de las Sociedades Cooperativas de Ahorro y Préstamo y Protección a sus Ahorradores (FOCOOP) and Fondo de Protección de Sociedades Financieras Populares y de Protección a sus Ahorradores (PROSOFIPO).

13 Deposits of banks in Northern Mariana Islands, Micronesia and Puerto Rico are insured by US Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) (Deposits of banks in American Territories, Guam, American Samoa, the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands and US Virgin Islands are also insured by the FDIC). In Puerto Rico, deposits of cooperatives are insured by Corporación para la Supervisión y los Seguros de las Cooperativas (COSSEC).

14 There are two deposit insurance systems in Portugal: Fundo de Garantia de Depósitos and Fundo de Garantia do Crédito Agrícola Mútuo.

15 The US has two federally mandated deposit insurance systems. The explicit protection of deposits in banks and savings associations (thrifts) is provided by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. Protection of depositor funds in credit unions (termed share accounts) is provided under a separate legislative mandate by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA). All federally chartered and most state-chartered credit unions are insured by the NCUA through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund (NCUSIF). State-chartered credit unions in nine states are allowed to obtain primary deposit insurance from a source other than NCUSIF. Amercian Share Insurance, chartered and licensed in the state of Ohio, is a private, mutually owned company that provides primary deposit insurance to those credit unions.